Just a little about me (relatively speaking).  I was born in Michigan in the upper peninsula; however, my family moved to south Florida when I was only six months old.  Needless to say, I do not remember anything about Michigan. Growing up in the Florida Keys made me form a mindset that water would always be around me and that I could go diving and fishing at any time and on any day.  However, at the age of 18, I moved to West Palm Beach [again, water was close by]. 

I attended college in West Palm Beach [Palm Beach Atlantic University] where I studied Psychology and Theology. By time of graduation, I was married and years later had a son – Travis [photo below] – Nov. 13, 1992.  I then went to Florida State University to attain my Masters in Information Science degree. On my final semester I discovered a position at Lee College (formal name of Lee Univ.) – I applied in November 1995 and was offered the position. My first day at work at Lee was Jan. 3rd, 1996. In 2001/02 my wife and I started the process of adopting from China.  In November of 2002, we went to China to finalize the process of adopting.  Our daughter’s name [American name]  is Ashleigh, born in July 15, 2000. My son’s month of birth, my offer to come to Lee, and my daughter’s month of when we picked her up from China are all in November.  [I guess you could say that November is a favored month for me.]

In 1999, I decided to start learning the Russian language.  I had simply fallen in love with the language and have not stopped studies of the language since my first day, if anything, I have increased my study habits for the language.  Two years later, I was offered the opportunity to go to Ukraine on a study abroad trip. After two years of visiting Ukraine, I applied for the Fulbright Visiting Scholar program – shocking to me, I was a recipient and moved to Ukraine for a half year.  I did not want to make it any longer because of our recently adopting of Ashleigh. Upon my return in 2004, I started my PhD program at University of Tennessee Knoxville – graduating in 2010 with my PhD in Education with an emphasis in Instructional Design & Technology and additional studies in Educational Psychology.  I continued visiting Ukraine up till 2012. Of all countries, it is still #1 on my “favorite countries” list.

Of my many interests, practically all, can be related to learning. My Masters degree being in information science is a good indicator.  Working in the library environment assured me that I would continue learning new things and that I would be surrounded by books of information at all times. I find that every day living is an opportunity to learn more about the world we live in, the people I am surrounded by, those of other cultures [which is also a great interest of mine] moreover, I learn more about myself. The books I love to read are usually knowledge and new information types. However, I have found myself reading stories that are about people and their experiences in life – and finding them inspirational. The reading I do is usually is to help in answering my many curiosities and the questions that I hear posed every day. I like to learn the hows and whys of the world and people I deal with every day. Yes, new information is perceived as boring to some; curiosity has turned into a major appetite for knowledge for me and I hope that rubs off on others.

My family is of utmost importance to me. My son, born in ’92 is also with many curiosities. Additionally I have a daughter; born 2000. She is always reading and asking questions as well. My wife and I have been married since 1980. Family is important to me because no matter how much knowledge I gain from books, lecturers, or experiences, I would be lost without family. Their love is so strong and supporting that I consider myself blessed beyond deserving.



In the photos, you can see a young man that is giving a presentation in Ukraine.  That is my son.  He was on the Ukraine trip as his Lee University study abroad trip in 2012.  All students on the trip gave presentations on various subjects relative to the American culture to an audience of Ukrainian teachers and students.

I moved to Ukraine to teach technology; however, the university in Ukraine had a schedule that I wasn’t necessarily planning for.  The first of which was teaching English as a foreign language. It turned out to be amazing. The enjoyment of teaching and living in the land of Ukraine is one I will never forget and hopefully repeat some day. After observing my lack weakness in explaining the English grammar – I completed my TESOl certification after returning.

As my family and Ukraine are both very important to me; along with my love for teaching and photography, This is some of my portraiture and wedding photos. Check out the page here also and my better works.  This demonstrates something else I love doing – portrait photography.

These are only a few of my interests. On my research page you will find more. On my personal blog outside of Lee University I have more about my research. Here is a link to my Doctoral Dissertation – in case you like research too.

email: msturgeon@leeuniversity.edu